Goring & Streatley


Testimonials


Wedding, Events & Sunday Lunch

Mr & Mrs Fryer Wedding: "Thank you so much for making our day so wonderful. Everything was better than we expected and so many people told us how much they enjoyed the food and that it was the best they'd ever had at a wedding! Everything was organized so well and we were so well looked after. Will definitely recommend you to anyone we can think of" (Esme & Tim - Sept 17)

50th Birthday Party: "We had a lovely evening thank you and all went to plan, the venue looked lovely and the food was lovely too.  The staff were all so friendly, helpful and lovely, please pass on my thanks to Nicky and the team". (Tracey Fuller - Sept 2017)

Mr & Mrs Drew Wedding: "I just wanted to write to you and say that both myself and Matthew and all of our guests had the most amazing time on Saturday I couldn't of hoped for anything more. All the food was beautiful all the guests complimented the chef. A special thank you to for all your organisation the day ran smoothly and everyone was happy". (Lucy Ryan August 2017)

Mobility Trust Ball:  "What a fantastic evening we all had on Saturday with the Mobility Trust ball, thank you". (J.Jupp Aug 2017)

70th Birthday Celebration: "We had a lovely meal with you on Saturday & are very happy with how everything went.  Everyone was very complimentary about both the quality & quantity of the food!" (Mrs Morrell July 2017)

Little Heath School Teachers End of Term Dinner: "As ever, you and your staff were fantastic hosts.  Please do pass on my thanks to Nicki and her team, who went out of their way to accommodate our requests. We would very much like to book next year" (Ms E.Tedstone July 2017)

M.Holman Corporate Meeting: Thank you to you and the rest of the team for everything you all did.  Our meetings all went well and the venue was a great place to be, to have the time we needed together as a team.  Thanks for all you did and I would be very happy to use you again if the opportunity arises.  (Melanie Holman June 2017)

Langtree School Prom: "Many thanks to you and all your staff for the excellent service last night and leading up to the prom.  The students had a great time and really enjoyed their evening." Mr K Brown (June 2017)

MMB Group: "The afternoon went very well and everyone enjoyed themselves. The food was excellent and the young lady looking after use did an excellent job we were all very pleased. So please pass on my/our thanks to all those involved for making the day go well". Kevin Organ (June 2017)

Mr & Mrs Dixon Wedding: "Thank you both for everything, you did such a fantastic job ensuring everything was just right for us and nothing was too much trouble. We had an amazing wedding day and are so pleased we chose Goring and Streatley Golf club as our venue. The weather was perfect and the views looked amazing, everyone commented on the great location! We would like to extend our thanks to the rest of the team - the food and service we received on the day was fantastic. We would definitely recommend to friends and family and hold any future events with you" Many thanks once again Olivia and Garry (June 2017)

Didcot Rotary Club - Presidents Dinner: "We had a super evening, and I was delighted that it all worked so well. Thanks to all of you at the Golf Club for making the whole evening work so enjoyable for everyone". (Mr Mavroleon - June 2017)

Mr & Mrs Shepherd Wedding:  "Everything was faultless, our day was incredible,  food & service was amazing, every member of staff from start to finish was wonderful to truly make our special day, I would definately come back again to celebrate another occasion at Goring & Streatley Golf Club" (Mr Shepherd - May 2017)

Mr & Mrs Jones Wedding (Hitched.com review)  Perfect day with stunning views and faultless food Review Details: The day was incredible. Stunning views, faultless food, friendly atmosphere and dedicated staff. We had our wedding here about a month ago and after looking at barns, hotels and stately homes nothing ticked all of our boxes until we visited woodlands at Goring and Streatley golf club. The team made the day perfect and we definitely made the right decision. The venue is very organised with Kiersa ensuring that every detail is thought of. The room itself presents a blank canvas for you to decorate how you wish, including with candles which a lot of other venues seemed to have a problem with and a beautiful balcony looking over the golf course. The day ran smoothly thanks to all the hard work Nicky and her team had put in allowing us to relax and enjoy our day. Nothing was ever too much. The food was faultless, hot and delicious the best meal we've ever had and what we cannot think of anywhere better to have had our wedding. We can't thank them enough, would highly recommend. Reviewer's Name: Mr and Mrs Jones (April 17)

Wallingford Football Club: "Everything went very well on Saturday and everyone was complimentary about the venue, service and food. I am sure we will find reasons to revisit the club in the future and I appreciate your support in setting the event up at such short notice" (Mr Morris May 17)

Foresters Friendly Society:  "We had a great time, it was enjoyed by all. Your staff were very helpful and should be complimented". (Mr Toomey May 17)

Mr & Mrs Jones Wedding: "Thank you so much to Kiersa and Laura for organising our wedding this weekend we had a fantastic time, everything was perfect and couldn't have gone any better. A big, big thank you to Nicky and the rest of the team, I could not fault anything the running of the day the food everything was perfect and they worked so hard to ensure everything was exactly how we wanted, Nicky is a real asset to your team and we are so greatful to her".  (Alice Jones Apr 17)

Mr & Mrs Griggs Golden Wedding Anniversary: "We have had a lot of people writing to us saying how wonderful our party was. There are a lot of good comments about how good the food was, some thought the starters were the main course!  Our compliments to the Chef and staff. Your help made it such a success, thank you so much". (Apr 17)

Rotary Club of Reading Abbey:"The food and service was excellent as always – you also have brilliant staff at Goring & Streatley GC". (April 17)

Sunday Lunch:"I would just like to say thanks for our 80th birthday lunch yesterday. Everyone had a great time and we were very pleased with the venue, food and service" (James Scott Apr 17)

Mr & Mrs Walker: "It was all lovely and the staff really great. I heard very good things about the food but sadly neither I nor Andrew ate anything. Andrew is particularly gutted about not getting any ice cream as it's his favourite thing. Thanks again and we would not hesitate in coming back to you or recommending to family and friends" (Wedding Apr 17)

Oxford Ditch Cruising Club: "Just wanted to thank you and all the staff for another successful event. The food and service was excellent as usual". (April 2017).

41 Club: "Everything went well and the feedback from the attendees was all positive. Thanks for your help - I'm sure we'll want to hold other events at GSGC". (Mar 17)

Mr & Mrs Pritchard - Sunday Lunch "We all enjoyed the anniversary event very much,and you will be seeing our friends again soon , the presentation and food was excellent we all enjoyed  it immensely . (Feb 17)

South Stoke W.I: "Many thanks for arranging today which everyone enjoyed" (Feb 17)

J.Scott Birthday Party: "Just to let you know we had a wonderful evening, everything exactly as we discussed. The food, wine, service and ambience couldn’t have been better and Keith as usual was a great host. I think everyone and especially the birthday boys enjoyed themselves.Thank you to all and hope to see you soon". (Jan 17)

Reading Football Club V.P: I can say with confidence that the evening went very well.  Everyone had a great time and the staff at the Club both leading up to the event and on the night were spectacular.  Extremely helpful and flexible with our many changes.  We look forward to working with you again in 2017! (Dec 2016)

Mixed Christmas Party Nights: "We were very impressed with it.  I have been to a lot of Christmas dos were there is 500 or more people there and it is really too crowded.  This was full without being crowded and just right – the food was nice and we were up dancing most of the time too" NHS (Dec 16)

"We had a fantastic time on Friday night and the food was amazing!!  Loved the disco too!  I also liked how we all managed to sit on one table.  Please pass on our thanks to all involved!" Benson Primary School (Dec 16)

Gatehampton Rd Christmas Lunch: "We were all so happy with our Christmas lunch! The room was so pretty, the ambiance quiet & peaceful for 70 pluses, & the food was especially good. We will be back next year please!  Thank you all so much, & Happy Christmas to you all" (Dec 16)

Baptisim Lunch: "Everything was great thank you and the food was very good.  The staff were very helpful and welcoming - all really impressive.  It was a great space for kids as well. We will recommend you and hopefully use the golf club again". Mrs Fretwell (Nov 16)

Casino Evening: "Just a note to thank you and all your team for helping to make last night very successful. Everyone seemed to enjoy the food, so compliments to the chef too". Cholsey Tennis Club (Oct 16)

Sunday Lunch:  "Just to say how much everybody enjoyed our Reunion Lunch on Sunday.  The meal was excellent and the staff all very helpful." Mr Griggs (Oct 16)

Tangent Club: "We had a wonderful time on Saturday evening - on behalf of Wallingford & District Tangent, I cannot thank you enough. The following is taken from my speech":

> "I should like to thank Kiersa Harris,the Wedding and Events Manager, Nicky, the Front of House Manager, and their team, here at the Golf Club, for their exemplary assistance, courtesy and long-suffering patience, as we prepared for this evening, as well as for looking after us so well on the night. In the nicest possible way, we locked horns back in February, and this evening marks the end of a seven -month-long- association, which I am sure is set to be repeated in the future.' (Sept 2016),  Lots of applause.... The food was delicious, and I have already received many compliments on that from our members. Do please pass on our gratitude to the gentleman on duty when we came over on Saturday morning- I didn't catch his name - who was extremely helpful, and attended to all of our enquiries." (Sept 2016).

Mr & Mrs White: Golden Wedding Anniversary. "We had a wonderful afternoon and we thank you and the restaurant staff for making it such a success. It was really special. We have been very impressed with your organizing, and patience with us,and I had already planned to mention in my email that we would be very happy to recommend you, the restaurant staff, and venue for any future events". (Sept 2016)

Mr & Mrs Terzino:  Please pass on our thanks to everyone! The day was amazing, everything went so smoothly we couldn't have asked for anything more (apart from the weather maybe!) Nicky was fantastic we can't thank her enough.  (Sept 2016)

Mr & Mrs Dixey: Thank you for going above & beyond for us on our Wedding Day, we couldn't of picked a better place to celebrate our special day, everything was amazing. (Aug 2016)

Mr & Mrs Dennis:  Thank you so much for allowing us to use the Woodlands Suite for our daughter's wedding reception, along with guiding us through the process.  When we booked almost a year ago it seemed along way ahead.  We had a fantastic time with everyone enjoying the day.

I would  be most grateful if you could thank your colleagues who helped make their & our day go so well, especially Nick in the kitchen & Nicky, Katy & team who did front of house. Thank you for making their day & our day so enjoyable & relaxed. (July 2016)

Mr Lally, Sunday Lunch: "I just wanted to say on behalf of myself and my family how pleased we were with the wonderful food and service we received yesterday. The food was outstanding and the service was perfect, a real treat. Please thank the Chef, Nicky and all the staff for as lovely experience". (July 2016)

Mr K Brown: "Thank you Kiersa & all the team for all of the hard work and patience.  Everyone had a great time and again it flowed like clockwork.  We will get a booking in again for next year" (School Prom, July 2016)

Mr & Mrs Dawes: "Just want to say a big thankyou to Kiersa, Nicki and the staff who worked on Saturday to make our wedding reception so fantastic. It went really smoothly. The food was terrific all our guests complimented us on it. We are both thrilled." (May 2016)

Mr & Mrs Lafferty: "Thank you for your email. Our wedding day was fantastic and we are both so pleased with how the day went. The room looked amazing and the food was great. Please thank Nicky and the staff for their wonderful service and endless energy. We will definitely recommend the golf club to people for events and we will use you again...anniversary maybe! Thank you for all your help and advice." (May 2016)

Mr Bruce: "Brilliant time, the room was laid out well. The food fabulous and the staff very very good and helpful. They made the day go off well". (April 2016)

Katy Stephens: "Thank you so much for everything everyone there did. It was amazing. All of our guests said it's been the best wedding they have been to and loved the food". (March 2016)

O.D.C.C "Thank you, we had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and the service excellent". (March 2016)

Sunday Lunch: "I want to thank you very much for all the work you put in for my party yesterday.  Everyone has been so complimentary about the table decorations, the food and the music, most of them said it was the best party they had attended!!   The family were so happy they didn't want to go home!" (March 2016)

Mr Kent: "Just to let you know what a fantastic evening we had on Saturday our party was a huge success, the room looked great, the food and service from your catering staff was first class and our guests were delighted. It was surprising that although fairly local to the area, how many of them did not know of the existence of the club house and what facilities it had to offer. They do now!

Thank you once again for all your help and advice in arranging the party for us, our retirement party could not have gone better. Please pass on our sincere thanks to Nicky and her team" (Feb 2016)

Wedding 2015:  "I am just writing to say how pleased we were with the service we received on Saturday at my daughters wedding.  Despite us arriving late to the Reception everything went smoothly and we were not rushed along.  The staff were all very patient, friendly and helpful.  Katy was extremely professional in her approach. Our decorations were cleared away and stacked ready for us to collect on Sunday morning.

 Nothing was too much trouble"












Created by intelligentgolf version 8.0.6
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.